Meet Newark

I really wish I had taken some shots of Newark at night when I drifted into town. Sadly, I had all my luggage with me and no hands free. Newark was strange at night. At least where I stayed, the Arts District and University Heights, after about six o’clock at night the place goes from a bustling, loud city, to eerily quiet. It rained the entire time I was there, which added to the surreal aura. In any case, it would have been a fun city to shoot at night (even with my little point and shoot), especially with the rain.

In the morning before I left, I finally got to see the city minus its rain shroud. This picture is on the main drag of the Arts district, Broad St. Someone threw away an umbrella.

Broad and King.jpg

I think the city has a certain character. If someone is looking to do a travelogue photo shoot, I would highly recommend Newark.

New&Halsey.JPG

2 responses to “Meet Newark

  1. I had fun reading and exploring with your blog. This is the first blog that I have ever seen. I am not sure how it works in its entirity , but I will keep chugging along. I came upon this leaving a comment place by accident so thought that I would be your first comment in this area. l enjoyed reading more about your destination and I love your banner “Talkin’….” How did you get the backwards shadow below it? I am going to try and forward this to Mom. Wish me luck!
    I can’t say that I am thrilled that you will be living even farther away from me than you are now. But I am very happy for you being able to follow your passion. I’ve run out of room so bye and take care.
    I love you!!! Mom

  2. I’m glad you like it. I rushed it a little and was afraid the text got lost in the picture. The picture is of an abandoned building with columns in Newark. As far as the text effect, I used photoshop.

    Specifically, I made a text layer, wrote out the title, copied that, inverted and flipped this second layer. Then I dropped the opacity, skewed it, and copied it again. The first layer I blurred with a motion blur at 10 pixels and zero degrees. For the second layer, I applied a motion blur at 65 pixels and zero degrees, and moved the whole thing to the right a few degrees to match the blur of the columns.

    I believe that you can’t run out of room on the comments field, it will just scroll down and you can’t see the beginning of what you typed, but it is still there.

Leave a Reply

