The New Panography

I first got into hard-core panography when I mistakenly entered what I thought was a backyard barbeque on a quiet street in the San Fernando Valley. Kip “Deep Dip Stick” Rogers was in attendance and I can safely say that I have never seen such a long … You know, I’m just now realizing that I mistook the term panography for a similar, less high-minded term. This is funny, as the way I first found out about panography was by mistaking it for that “other” term. Props to Melissa for introducing me to the technique on Friday. You can visit her example.

So, I took my Sony Cybershot DSC M1 and started shooting the only thing I have of any interest in my office. A framed print of the first Illustrator art I ever made. I took a bunch of pictures of it, and then on saturday I stitched them all together in photoshop.

pieta_panograpy.jpg

I thought it went okay, but there was some continuity missing and some exposure differences. I tried to scaling each piece manually, but that was taking forever and was innacurate. Then I started playing with different filter techniques. This is my favorite.

edges_pieta_panograpy.jpg

I sorta liked the incongruities, sorta thought they were lame, so I tried “hiding them” by affixing borders and shading and making everything look like a pile of prints. This is my favorite and “final” version of my attempt at panagraphy. Hope you like it.

photos1panograpy.jpg

A note on the framed print. The caption you can’t read at the bottom is this:
“The sleeper is the proprietor of an unknown land . . . [H]e who stands looking down upon her who lies sleeping knows the horizontal fear, the fear unbearable. For man goes only perpendicularly against his fate. He was neither formed to know that other nor compiled of its conspiracy.” Djuna Barnes, Nightwood, p.87, 1927(?).

I read these lines, and they instantly displaced the To be, not to be … quote in Hamlett as my favorite lines about death. In the margin of the page I sketched the figure that would later be my Illustrator art. I used colors combinations that hinted at the “twilight”, “dusk” subject matter, and tried to be as literal as possible with the rest. The figure is of a man, head howling to the heavens, carrying the limp body of a woman.

4 responses to “The New Panography

  1. I’m assuming you know this straight away, but as a photograph (or more generally, a picture) is a 2D representation, it is difficult to make interest from something that was 2D to begin with. However, as your first attempt, I do say that you started, a noble enough accomplishment. I like your final draft with the borders, and I like your sticktoitiveness. I didn’t know you have an office.

  2. That’s the second time in a 24-hour period I have heard the word ‘sticktoitiveness’. And the second time in my entire life. But it looks like the word has been around a hundred years. Just no one told me is all.

  3. Also, I can’t help but noting that the gradient shading on the final version is backwards according to the drop shadows. The top left should be bright white and the bottom right shaded.

  4. As for sticktoitiveness, I am suprised it is a real word, I just made it up (or thought I did anyway, I guess someone else beat me to the punch, now all that is left is an empty bowl). As for the gradient, it is good you realize that about light sources and all, it will come in handy later, but for your first try, I wouldn’t worry too much about it, as it is a learning experience, and you learned. Mission accomplished, right?

Leave a Reply

